Why You Need an Atlanta Traffic Ticket Lawyer
In the state of Georgia, traffic offenses can earn drivers more than just fines and tickets. In addition, persons who are ticketed for a traffic violation will be issued points which will then be tacked onto their driving record. The system designates a value to every type of traffic offense, each ranging between two and six points, depending on the degree of the violation.
By law, any driver who accumulates 15 or more points within a 24-month period will be suspended from driving in the state of Georgia. Although no points are given for speeding tickets that were issued for driving 15 miles per hour over the speed limit, or for convictions of driving "too fast for conditions," all other traffic violations are penalized per the state's point system.
More quickly than you would expect, the points on your driving record can add up, making it relatively easy to tally 15 points in a two-year period. For this reason, it is essential that drivers who have been issued a traffic citation call upon an Attorney Sailers for professional advice. Not only can an attorney guide you in the process moving forward, but they might also be able to help you fight the charges and avoid being penalized at all.
Breakdown of the Point System
Whether you were ticketed for driving aggressively or for violating Georgia's texting while driving law, if you pay the fines associated with your ticket, the payment will be taken as an automatic plea of guilt. As such, points will be added to your driving record and you could suffer further consequences depending on how many points you've already accumulated.
6-Point Traffic Offenses
Unlawful passing of a school bus
Speeding 34 mph or more than the speed limit
4-Point Traffic Offenses
Improper passing on a hill or curve
Speeding 24-33 mph over the speed limit
3-Point Traffic Offenses
Speeding 19-23 mph over the speed limit
Failing to obey a traffic-control device
Failing to obey a police officer
All other moving violations
2-Point Traffic Offenses
Speeding 15-18 mph over the speed limit
Possessing an open container of alcohol while driving
Failing to adequately secure a load
Second (or subsequent) violation of the child safety restraint law
1-Point Traffic Offenses
First violation of the child safety restraint law
Violating the requirements for using a wireless telecommunication device
Texting while driving
Fourth and subsequent offenses for the improper use of the designated travel lane
How to Obtain Point Reductions
In order to ensure that your driving record remains clean, and you are not in danger of having your license suspended from the accumulation of excessive points, contact Sailers & Associates at (404) 761-1212 or (770) 964-2847. According to state law (O.C.G.A §40-5-86), residents of the state who have been ticketed have the right to request that the Georgia Department of Driving Services (DDS) take action to reduce the number of points assessed against a driver's license.
Every five years, drivers can appeal to the DDS for a reduction of up to seven points. To do so, a certified Driver Improvement course must be completed which teaches the art of driving defensively. The original certificate of completion for this course must then be submitted to the DDS via mail or in person at one of the Department's Customer Service Centers. If, for any reason, your request is not validated, Attorney Sailers is prepared to fight for your legal right to a Points Reduction.