What is the legal definition of child molestation?
Any immoral or indecent act that is committed in the presence of or with a child under the age of 16 with the intent to arouse or satisfy the sexual desires of either the child or the person, is categorized as a child molestation crime in Georgia. This can include any improper touching of a child, and virtually any person who has contact with a child can be accused of this crime. From sports coaches to teachers, daycare workers and babysitters, it is not uncommon for accusations of child molestation to be made against those who work with children on a regular basis.
Accusations of child molestation may be the result of an over-protective parent or a jealous relative, and those who are accused of this serious sex crime must take immediate action to protect their rights. Regardless of the allegations brought against you and the motivation behind them, you deserve for your story to be heard. Atlanta sex crime Attorney Andre Sailers and his qualified legal team will help you defend your rights, your reputation and your freedom.
According to recent statistics, a report of child abuse is made every ten seconds in the United States. The Child Molestation Research & Prevention Institute in Atlanta states that at least two of out every ten girls and one out of every ten boys are victims of a sexual abuser, and the Atlanta police take reports of child molestation very seriously. If you or someone you know have been accused of this crime, call a lawyer who can take action immediately on your behalf.
Penalties for Child Molestation in Georgia
According to the Georgia Crime Code, Title 16, §16-6-4, the penalties for a first offense of child molestation include imprisonment for no less than 5 years and no more than 20 years. The judge has the power to order probation after a defendant has been convicted of child molestation for the first time, and this probation may include a requirement to undergo a mandatory period of counseling by a licensed psychiatrist or psychologist. If the judge finds that probation is not adequate or appropriate, then the judge will sentence the defendant to imprisonment.
If you have been charged with child molestation for the second or third time, you must be aware that the penalties under Georgia law are more severe. For a second or third conviction, you will be punished with anywhere from 10 to 30 years in prison, or imprisonment for life.
Aggravated child molestation is a more severe form of this crime and involves situations where a person commits an offense of child molestation which physically injures the child or involves an act of sodomy. This is one of the most serious sex crimes that one can be accused of in Georgia, and the penalties for an aggravated child molestation conviction include a prison sentence of 10 to 30 years in prison.
Atlanta Child Molestation Attorney: Fighting to Protect You
Regardless of how serious the charges against you may seem, you can rest assured knowing that Attorney Sailers has many years of experience handling these cases in Atlanta courtrooms. When you contact The Law Office Sailers & Associates about your case early on, the firm's legal team will have time to build a compelling defense against your charges. One of the most common defenses against child molestation charges is that the charges involved false allegations. All too often, people are accused of child molestation because the accuser has ulterior motives that arose out of revenge, jealousy or anger. This is especially common in cases that involve custody battles or split families, and Attorney Sailers will help you gather the evidence you need to fight for reduced or dismissed charges. Call now to schedule a consultation!